The Fortress of Lovech is situated on the two picturesque terraces of the beautiful hill Hisarya, which is located in Varosha – the old part of the city of Lovech. The Fortress is one of the best and most visited landmarks in the city. The Fortress has been considered an architectural monument of national significance since 1967.
The first settlement on the hill took place during the Copper Age (4-3 millennium BC). The archaeological digs have revealed parts of homes, fragments of pottery and one golden application left from the earlier settlers. According to the findings, the hill hosted a Thracian settlement. Moreover, the findings that characterize the newer periods in the history of the Fortress of Lovech include seven churches in three different building styles. The earliest and biggest church can be found on the highest part of the Hisarya hill. It was built at some point about V-VI century.
Other artefacts found in the area of the fortress include a big quantity of finery, household items, tools and pottery. Especially interesting are two findings – silver coins treasures. On the coins are represented Tsar Ivan Alexander of Bulgaria (1301 – 1371) and Micahel Asen IV of Bulgaria – his son. The first of the treasures consists of 16 coins found in a pot, and the second – 1430 coins in an earthen jug.
The Fortress of Lovech was built during the Roman reign. Its creation coincides with the building of the first Roman road station in Bulgaria – Presidium, which is also on the territory of the city of Lovech. Except the natural cover that the hill with its steep high hills and the river gave to the Fortress of Lovech, it also had a high and solid stone wall. However, the most interesting and important date of its existence is 1187, when the Fortress witnessed the signing of the Lovech Peace Treaty between the Byzantine Empire and Bulgaria, with which was put the beginning of the Second Bulgarian Kingdom. Another interesting fact about the Fortress of Lovech is that it was one of the last to be conquered by the Ottomans and to fall under Ottoman reign – in 1446.
In the west part of the Fortress, where are the foundations of the metropolitan’s churches, there is a large metal cross that is visible to almost every part of the city of Lovech. Near the Fortress are situated the old part of Lovech – Varosha and the monument of Vasil Levski. Today a great part of the Fortress is restored and it attracts a great number of visitors. Since the end of year 2005 the fortress and the monument are supplied with a special night lighting like the Fortress Tsarevets in the city of Veliko Tarnovo.
The visitors can visit and look around the castle with the help of the guides of the Regional Historical Museum in Lovech. The working times are as follow: between November and March – 8 a.m. – 12 a.m. : 1 p.m. – 5 p.m. and between April and October – 9 a.m. – 12 a.m. : 2 p.m. – 7 p.m. Being in Lovech, you can also take the chance and see the Covered Bridge built by Kolyu Ficheto and the various museums, parks and monuments.